V.F.W. District 8 Announces Educational Contest Winners
The latest meeting of V.F.W. District 8 unveiled this year’s V.F.W. educational contest winners. Randy Tolliver of Reynolds County is the representative for V.F.W. District 8. He says they had a special guest at the meeting.

Awards were presented by V.F.W. District 8 Commander Burt Williams and Missouri V.F.W. Department Senior Vice-Commander Rick Deponte. Tolliver goes over the student winners starting with the Patriot Pen Essay Contest winners.

There are also three V.F.W. District 8 Teacher of the Year winners. Ste. Genevieve High School teacher Kyle R. Schweiss wins. Middle School Teacher of the Year is Andrew Holland who teaches at Desoto Junior High School and the V.F.W. District 8 Elemenetary School Teacher of the Year is Centerville teacher Janet Dement. These winners will move on to the next level of competition which will eventually end after the national contest.